DeWitt Library Subject Guides: Business: Get Started

Where do I start?

Resources in our online Reference collections, such as subject encyclopedias, are great starting points for your research. They offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research, and often a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.

Newspapers

SUNY Ulster students, faculty & staff receive free, unlimited access to the online content of The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times, both reliable sources of business, financial and economic news.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Access WSJ.com by choosing "Sign In" then "Sign in with Google" and enter your SUNY Ulster email address.
NYTimes.com Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Register with your SUNY Ulster email address for a free 6-month subscription to nytimes.com and the NYTimes mobile apps. After 6 months, verify your email address again for another pass from this link. Make sure to check your Spam folder for the NYTimes.com Verification Email.
**You must use the link provided above to activate. You cannot set up your account from NYTimes.com.

Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Additional content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. A collection of bibliographic and full text content back as far as 1886.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
More than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal.