CDC 113 Introduction to Chemical Dependency
Course Description: This course addresses the historical, biological, psychological, and social aspects of alcohol, substance abuse, and addiction. Students will explore substance abuse in contemporary society, with an emphasis on the impact alcohol and other chemicals has on individuals, families, and the community.
Specialized Reference Sources
Get started with a topic by finding background information first. Search in a Reference database to find specialized encyclopedia articles.
Reference Databases:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSpanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Reference Titles:
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery by Call Number: REF 362.2903 E564 2009Publication Date: 2009Research and evidence-based applications in A-to-Z format. The focus is practical knowledge and skills for pre-service and in-service human service professionals, including substance abuse counselors and prevention specialists.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive BehaviorCall Number: Gale eBook / REF 362.2903 E5641 2009Publication Date: 2009Addressing social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. Includes historical and modern perspectives on drug, alcohol, and tobacco use in more than 30 countries and regions.
Drug Abuse Sourcebook by Call Number: REF 362.29 D7943 2014ISBN: 9780780813076Publication Date: 2014Provides basic consumer health information about the abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications, along with facts about prevention, treatment, and recovery. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.
The Encyclopedia of Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse by Call Number: REF 362.29203 G6182 2010Publication Date: 2010The Encyclopedia of Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse examines the history of alcohol and alcoholism, providing detailed information about alcohol abuse and dependence. It explains the process by which alcohol dependence emerges, contributing factors, how to recognize alcohol dependence, what treatments are available, and the health impact if it is left untreated.
Print Books & eBooks
The INSights Collection is made up of mostly fictional works to help with understanding and dealing with difficult situations and relationships.
A Contemporary Approach to Substance Use Disorders and Addiction Counseling by Call Number: ebook central
Publication Date: 2015
Substance Abuse Handbook by Call Number: Consumer Health 616.86 R9347 2014 OR ebook centralPublication Date: 2014The second edition of The Substance Abuse Handbook follows the general organization of the 'big' book, Lowinson and Ruiz's Substance Abuse. This title distills content from the larger text into a concise, portable guide for healthcare professionals who need to diagnose and treat addictive disorders and related medical conditions.
Drugs of Abuse by Call Number: ebook centralPublication Date: 2014Provides an essential introduction to the chemical and molecular underpinnings of drug use and abuse
Related Websites
- NYS Office of Addiction Services and SupportsThe New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports (OASAS) oversees one of the nation’s largest addiction services systems with nearly 1,600 prevention, treatment and recovery programs. OASAS chemical dependence treatment programs assist about 100,000 people a day and approximately 240,000 individuals every year.
- SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services AdministrationThe Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
- National Institute on Drug AbuseNIDA is a federal scientific research institute under the National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NIDA is the largest supporter of the world's research on drug use and addiction. NIDA-funded scientific research addresses the most fundamental and essential questions about drug use, including tracking emerging drug use trends, understanding how drugs work in the brain and body, developing and testing new drug treatment and prevention approaches, and disseminating findings to the general public, researchers, policymakers, and others.
- Alcoholics Anonymous Information for ProfessionalsProfessionals who work with alcoholics share a common purpose with Alcoholics Anonymous: to help the alcoholic stop drinking and lead a healthy, productive life.
- Al-Anon Family Groups"Strenth and hope for friends and families of problem drinkers"
Related Guides
- CDC 113 - Intro to Chemical Dependency
- Human Services
- HUS103 - Intro to Human Services
- HUS202 - Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
- HUS205 - Child Welfare
- HUS207 - Aspects of Aging
- HUS209 - Ethics and Standards for Human Services
- HUS211 - Human Services Interview and Counseling
- INSights: Words That Help