Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster

Chicago Citation Style

This guide provides examples for creating citations using Chicago style.

DOI's

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string that is used to identify a certain source (typically journal articles).

Example: DOI:10.1080/14622200410001676305

If a DOI is listed on an electronic source it is included in the reference.  When there is a choice between using a DOI or a URL, it is recommended that a DOI be used.    

For more information on DOIs and how they pertain to journal articles, check out the The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).

Basic Journal Article

General Format 
 
      Full Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #. 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article.
    
 
Example 
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Nancy Tousley, "Tracing a History: Gisele Amantea," Canadian Art 20, no. 1 (2003): 64. 
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2. Tousley, "Tracing a History," 64.
   
      Bibliography:
     Tousley, Nancy. "Tracing a History: Gisele Amantea." Canadian Art 20, no. 1 (2003): 63-65. 

Journal Article from a Database

General Format 
 
      Full  Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, name of the database OR URL of journal article web page.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #. 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article. Name of the database OR URL of journal article web page.
          
 
Example 
 
      Full Footnote:
            1.  Valerie Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience," World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 168,  http://muse.jhu.edu/.   
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2.  Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democritization," 168.
 
      Bibliography:
      Bunce, Valerie. "Rethinking Recent Democritization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience." World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 167-192. http://muse.jhu.edu/.
 
Example 2
 
       Full Footnote:
            1. Kenneth Aitchison, "After the Gold Rush: Global Archeology in 2009," World Archeology 41, no. 4 (2009): 670, DOI: 10.1080/00438240903363772.
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2.  Aitchison. "After the Gold Rush," 670.
 
      Bibliography:
      Aitchison, Kenneth. "After the Gold Rush: Global Archeology in 2009." World Archeology 41, no. 4 (2009): 659-671. DOI: 10.1080/00438240903363772.
 

Journal Article from an Online Periodical

General Format 
 
      Full Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx  OR URL of journal article web page.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #. 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article [if provided].
               doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx  OR URL of journal article web page.
  
 
Example 1
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems," Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 17,  http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.  
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2.  Testa and Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence," 17.
 
      Bibliography:
      Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems." Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 1-25. http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.  
 
 
Example 2
       Full Footnote:
            1. David Meban, "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem Virgil's Third Georgic," Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (2008): 153, doi:10.1086/591611.
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2. Meban, "Temple Building," 153.
 
      Bibliography:
      David Meban. "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem Virgil's Third Georgic." Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (2008):
            150-74, doi:10.1086/591611.
 

Newspaper Article

General Format 
 
      Full Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, 
      Month Day, Year.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title." 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title,
            Month Day, Year.
 
Example
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to
      Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."
 
      Bibliography:
      Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal
            Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.

Newspaper Article from an Online Newspaper

General Format 
 
      Full Note: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title,
      Month Day, Year, URL.
 
      Concise Note: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title." 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title,
            Month Day, Year. URL.
  
Example
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Andrew Chung, "Duceppe Resigns as Bloc Quebecois Drowns
      in an Orange Tsunami," Toronto Star, April 10, 2000, http://www
      .thestar.com/.
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2.Chung, "Duceppe Resigns."
 
      Bibliography:
      Chung, Andrew. "Duceppe Resigns as Bloc Quebecois Drowns
            in an Orange Tsunami." Toronto Star. April 10, 2000.
            http://www.thestar.com/.

Magazine Article

General Format 
 
      Full Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day,
      Year, page #.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #. 
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year.
 
 
Example 
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Carol Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," Scientific American, May 2000, 32.  
 
      Concise Footote:
            2. Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," 32.
 
      Bibliography:
      Ezzell, Carol. "Care for a Dying Continent." Scientific American, May 2000.

Magazine Article from an Online Magazine

General Format 
 
      Full Footnote: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day,
      Year, doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL of article web page.
 
      Concise Footnote: 
            2. Author Surname, "Article Title."
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year.
             doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR URL of article web page.
 
Example 
 
      Full Footnote:
            1. Joseph Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulph Coast Oil Spill: It's
      been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody has Learned Anything," Macleans, May
      2, 2011, http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/05/02/spilling-over/.  
 
      Concise Footnote:
            2. Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned."
 
      Bibliography:
      Boyden, Joseph. "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulph Coast Oil Spill: It's
             been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody has Learned Anything."
             Macleans, May 2, 2011. http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/05/02/spilling-over/.