It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster
Library Research Databases
Find the best library databases for your research.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
All users must create a free account to access the tools using the link provided. After account creation, you will have access to the following products:
Human Anatomy Atlas - The most complete and easy-to-use 3D human body reference and study tool. Human Anatomy Atlas 2023＋ is now available across platforms; access it on the Web and on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device.
Visible Biology - For biological concepts and processes, Visible Biology provides immersive 3D, simple controls, and engaging, interactive simulations viewable from multiple perspectives.
Anatomy & Physiology** - A step-by-step introduction to each human body system organized like a textbook. **Recommended for BIO107 and BIO108 students
Muscle Premium - A comprehensive reference of musculoskeletal structures and function, plus common injuries and conditions.
Physiology Animations - A video reference atlas with 3D animations that communicate core physiology and common conditions.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources with coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Millions of articles available ranging from 1980 to the present day. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with coverage of many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
Includes over 1.6 million images covering art, architecture and archaeology. An unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Contributions are added monthly. Also included are curriculum guides for instructors.
Search everything available through the library's collections and subscriptions. Limit to Library Catalog for books and other physical items. Search the SUNY Catalog and make interlibrary loan requests from within the same interface.
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across Gale's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Includes content from Gale's Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors, LitFinder, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Content largely derives from the social sciences and humanities with more than 2,000 academic journals and over 20,000 books. JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journals in both digital and print formats, generally from the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent three to five years.
Register with your SUNY Ulster email address for a free 6-month subscription to nytimes.com and the NYTimes mobile apps. After 6 months, verify your email address again for another pass from this link. Make sure to check your Spam folder for the NYTimes.com Verification Email.
**You must use the link provided above to activate. You cannot set up your account from NYTimes.com.
Ideal for researching controversial issues. Access pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Useful for argument and position papers.
Spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Access nursing reference e-books using your desktop, laptop and web-enabled mobile devices. A sample list of titles includes:
AAFP Conditions A to Z
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures with Nursing Diagnoses
Taber's® Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary Instructions for activating/renewing Stat!Ref mobile app
The library makes every attempt to ensure that our vendors are in compliance with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Below are the accessibility statements or policies provided by our vendors.