E Books: click on the title for direct access
Photography by Call Number: Ebook Central
Photography explores the photograph in the twenty-first century and its importance as a media form. Stephen Bull considers our media-saturated society and the place of photography in everyday life, introducing the theories used to analyse photographs and exploring the impact of digital technology.
Fifty Key Writers on Photography by Call Number: Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2013A clear and concise survey of some of the most significant writers on photography who have played a major part in defining and influencing our understanding of the medium.
In Looking Back One Learns to See by Call Number: Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2014In Looking Back One Learns to See: Marcel Proust and Photography brings to light Proust's photographic resources and his visual imagination. This scrupulously researched book features over 100 illustrations.
The Manual of Photography by Call Number: Ebook CentralThis comprehensive guide takes you from capture to output in both digital and film media, with sections on lens use, darkroom techniques, digital cameras and scanners, image editing techniques and processes, workflow, digital file formats and image archiving.
Lens on Life by Call Number: Ebook CentralLens on Life shows you how to capture an authentic view of your world.
Print books can be requested online for curbside pickup: see library page of portal for instructions
Group F.64 by
Call Number: 770.92 A411grPublication Date: 2014Edward Weston, Ansel Adams, Imogen Cunningham, and the community of artists who revolutionized American photographyColor Rush: American color photography from Stieglitz to Sherman by
Call Number: 778.6 B9813ISBN: 9781597112260
Man Ray: the photographic image by Call Number: 779.092 R264w J35ISBN: 0812053745Publication Date: 1981-04-01
Databases & DVDs
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1.6 million images covering art, architecture and archaeology. An unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. ARTSTOR is available on the JSTOR platform.
- ART21: view their wide collection of videos.Art21 produces features focusing exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists throughout the world, including the Peabody Award-winning biennial series "Art in the Twenty-First Century." Intimate footage allows the viewer to observe the artists at work and watch their process as they transform inspiration into art.
Annie Leibovitz: life through a lensCall Number: DVD A6151Manufactured Landscapes: Edward Burtynsky
Call Number: DVD M2948The effects of China's massive industrial development on the natural landscape.Contacts. 1, La grande tradition du photo-reportage = The great tradition of photojournalism
Call Number: DVD C759 v. 1A collection of films examining the work of twelve photographers who have earned their reputations in photojournalism and documentary photography.Henri Cartier-Bresson the impassioned eye
Call Number: DVD H518
American photography: a century of imagesCall Number: DVD A51272Richard Avedon: darkness and light
Call Number: DVD R511
Websites
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
...the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people. - International Center of Photography, NYC
Over 100,000 images. Use their database eMuseum to access more in-depth data about the images. Set up a free account and save your search results in a lightbox feature. Offers one-year certificate program and a Master's program. - New York Public Library Photography Collection
Online catalog of over 500,000 images. - National Archives Photography Collection
Includes 226 Ansel Adams photos, commissioned by the National Park Service. - Eastman Museum
... the world’s oldest photography museum opened to the public in 1949 and is housed in George Eastman's Colonial Revival mansion where he and his family lived from 1905 to 1932. - LIFE Magazine Picture Collection
"The LIFE Picture Collection is the visual chronicle of the 20th century and one of the most important photographic archives in the United States. From 1936 to 2000, LIFE commissioned more than 10 million photographs across 120,000 stories. At its height, LIFE magazine’s incomparable images and essays reached 1 of 3 American readers. The original pictures and articles remain in Meredith’s LIFE Picture Collection, an unprecedented cultural asset with millions of untold stories and unseen images." - The Met : Photography Collection
Metropolitan Museum of Art's Department of Photographs
Online Magazines
- View Camera Online Magazine
Large format camera resource