It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster
LGBTQ+ Resources at SUNY Ulster: Resources: focused databases, books in print and electronic, media and web resources
We are a Safe Space
The Macdonald DeWitt Library is a safe space for all. Librarians are available to assist with any research needs. If privacy is a concern, consider making an appointment with a librarian to meet in a separate space. The library does not maintain records of library materials taken out by individual patrons.
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and more than 150 full-text monographs and books. Comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade,and many more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
How can you build unshakable confidence and resilience in a world still filled with ignorance, inequality, and discrimination? The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook will teach you how to challenge internalized negative messages, handle stress, build a community of support, and embrace your true self.
A collection of original essays and expanded testimonials written to teens from celebrities, political leaders, and everyday people. While many of these teens can't see a positive future for themselves, we can. We can show LGBT youth the kind of happiness, potential, and satisfaction their lives hold if they can just get through these early years.
... a collection of 35 true stories gathered from the membership of Running Amach, a social networking group for LGBTQ women in Ireland. They range from the humorous to the tragic, covering love, denial, heartbreak, joy, fear, happiness, religion, rejection and acceptance.
This book opens a window into these diverse lives, gathering stories and poems about lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer life into a brilliant, path-breaking anthology. In these pages we see the panoply of LGBTQ life in Alaska today, from the quotidian urban adventures of a family--shopping, going out, working--to intimate encounters with Alaska's breathtaking natural beauty.
"Among the many activist groups that worked to archive this history was the International Gay Information Center (IGIC), which grew out of the History Committee of GAA. The IGIC archives operated as a community-based repository until 1988, when the organization's directors gave the collection to The New York Public Library. The IGIC archives, along with other archives and collections subsequently donated to the Library, such as the Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen Gay History Papers and Photographs, comprehensively document the gay and lesbian civil rights struggles in New York since the 1950s and have made NYPL one of the most important archives of LGBT history in the United States." --from About section of LGBTQ Materials in NYPL