DeWitt Library Subject Guides: ART 110 20th Century Art History: Library Research: tools, tips, and 2 databases

Intro Video

DiscoverDeWitt This link opens in a new window
Search everything available through the library's collections and subscriptions. Limit to Library Catalog for books and other physical items. Search the SUNY Catalog and make interlibrary loan requests from within the same interface.

In some cases, it is better to go directly to the most relevant subject specific database/interface.

Research Databases
A listing of the library's subscription databases. Filter by subject area or database type.

For Literary Criticism:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across Gale's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Includes content from Gale's Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors, LitFinder, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. An excellent source to find peer-reviewed, academic articles.

For images only:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Includes over 1.6 million images covering art, architecture and archaeology. An unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. ARTSTOR is available on the JSTOR platform.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. An excellent source to find peer-reviewed, academic articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database with coverage of many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features content going back as far as 1887.