Reference Works
Use subject encyclopedias for topic overviews, general context and ideas for further research.
The Encyclopedia of Earth by Call Number: REF 550 E564 2008ISBN: 0520254716Publication Date: 2008With thousands of photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and maps and a text written by a team of international experts, it presents an impressive overview of our globe--beginning with the history of the universe and ending with today's conservation issues.
Ocean: An Illustrated Atlas by Call Number: REF 551.46 E123 2009ISBN: 9781426203190Publication Date: 2008Detailing a mysterious realm that's as vital to our existence as the air we breathe, this new atlas immerses readers in the wonders of the deep through more than 250 up-to-the-minute maps, photographs, and satellite images. Astonishing full-color photographs and diagrams reveal the beauty and complexity of ocean life.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by Call Number: Oxford Reference OnlinePublication Date: 202010,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSpanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowComprehensive science reference. The latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
eBooks
Tectonic Geomorphology by Call Number: Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781444338867Publication Date: 2011Overall, this book focuses on the current understanding of the dynamic interplay between surface processes and active tectonics.
Biogeochemistry of Estuaries by Call Number: Ebook CentralISBN: 0195160827Publication Date: 2006Biogeochemistry of Estuaries offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary approach to understanding biogeochemical cycling in estuaries. Biogeochemistry of Estuaries provides a unique foundation in the areas of geomorphology, geochemistry, biochemistry, aqueous chemistry, and ecology, while making strong linkages to ecosystem-based processes in estuarine sciences.
For Love of Lakes by Call Number: Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2011An affectionate account documenting our species’ long relationship with lakes—their glacial origins, Thoreau and his environmental message, and the major perceptual shifts and advances in our understanding of lake ecology.
General Collection
The books below are available to be checked out from the General Collection (upstairs).
Earth by Call Number: 550 R476ISBN: 0801478235Publication Date: 2012In Earth: A Tenant's Manual, the distinguished geologist Frank H. T. Rhodes, President Emeritus of Cornell University, provides a sweeping, accessible, and deeply informed guide showing us how we might best preserve the Earth's livability for ourselves and future generations.
Eruptions That Shook the World by Call Number: 551.21 O622ISBN: 0521641128Publication Date: 2011Volcanologist Clive Oppenheimer explores rich geological, historical, archaeological and palaeoenvironmental records (such as ice cores and tree rings) to tell the stories behind some of the greatest volcanic events of the past quarter of a billion years.
The Hudson Valley in the Ice Age by Call Number: 557.47 T623ISBN: 1883789729Publication Date: 2012Join Professors Robert and Johanna Titus on a tour of the Hudson Valley and see this familiar region with new eyes, the eyes of geologists who see a half-mile-thick sheet of ice grinding its way down the valley and overtopping even the highest mountains.
