It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster
Costume FAS 130
The history and sources of costume and dress developed through the ages and across cultural boundaries..
Resources: Reference, books & ebooks, databases & media, websites
Our print and online reference tools are great starting points for your research.
Reference works offer concise overviews of a broad range of topics and key concepts, examples of major works and historical perspectives. Bibliographies can point you to additional relevant resources. Print reference resources offer always-available-in-library works for access to critical information. Online reference works are fully searchable, full text, and can be accessed from home and your mobile devices.
We have both print books to lend and ebooks that can be accessed from home.
We offer thousands of scholarly articles in electronic format through our databases. They are subject specific as well as multi-disciplinary. We have image databases, music databases, film databases. Each discipline has its own tab for relevant resources.
Websites listed here are authoritative and represent a sample of the vast world of Internet resources available.
How do I search?
Search 95% of our collection of resources using the library's Discover DeWitt search tool, found on the library tab of the portal page.
View this quick tutorial below to learn how to use it most efficiently!
Search everything available through the library's collections and subscriptions. Limit to Library Catalog for books and other physical items. Search the SUNY Catalog and make interlibrary loan requests from within the same interface.