Earth's Environment
Course description: Relationships between humans and the earth are examined in this course, with a focus on natural hazards and natural resources. The course emphasizes the Earth processes that are important to human activities and the impact of human activities on Earth’s processes. Topics may include volcanoes, earthquakes, flooding, water quality, water resources, global climate change, severe weather, wildfires and coastal processes, among others. The interactions between the various natural hazards are examined.
This purpose of this page is to provide resources for the Natural Hazard Paper.
Recommended Databases
Library databases contain articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. Use the search filters to select specific source types and make sure you are paying attention to the publication dates.
- AVON - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowVideo titles spanning anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSpecialized encyclopedia collection. There are a handful of relevant titles in this database, but pay attention to the copyright date as many were published at least 15 years ago.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSpanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary full-text database with coverage of many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
Suggested Resources
Specialized Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia entries are generally brief and give you the accepted facts on a topic. They are excellent starting points for research because they often point you to more specific sources of information or give you ideas for further research.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSpanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by ISBN: 9780198540397Publication Date: 2003Offers 900 alphabetically arranged entries that cover everything from deserts and wetlands to mountains, caves, glaciers, and coral reefs. There are articles on natural phenomena such as tornadoes and tsunamis, volcanoes and earthquakes, jet streams and weather fronts; on the history of Earth, including the origin of life, Burgess Shale fauna, dinosaurs, and the Ice Ages; on key figures, such as Agassiz, Cuvier, Darwin, and Lamarck; and on such important ecological concerns as acid rain, the ozone layer, industrial waste disposal, and the greenhouse effect.
The Oxford Companion to Global Change by Publication Date: 2009The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. In one convenient volume, the Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.
Books:
The library has a large collection of print and electronic books that provide in-depth research as well as contextual information to help you understand a topic and its place in the larger academic conversation.
- DiscoverDeWitt - Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and ebooks on specific natural hazards or events. Use the date filter on the left side as needed. Print books may be requested for pick up.
Newspapers, Magazines & Journals:
If you plan to search the web for sources, make sure you are familiar with or can identify the credentials of the publisher/author. Try and stick with well-known sources of information like reputable newspapers and magazines or government sources.
- NYTimes.com Academic Pass This link opens in a new windowRegister with your SUNY Ulster email address for a free account to nytimes.com and the NYTimes mobile apps. Search the site for articles and feature pieces on specific events or hazards.
- National GeographicUse the "search within" search box to find articles from this magazine that publishes "articles on interesting people, places, customs, activities and nature on a worldwide scale, with an emphasis on human involvement in a changing universe."
Citing and Plagiarism Resources
Your paper and sources must be formatted using GSA standards.
- Guide to GSA Style - Referencesfrom College of the Mainland Library
- GSA Reference Guidelines and Examplesfrom the Geological Society of America
- Plagiarism ResourcesVideos and more information about plagiarism and how to avoid it.
