It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book provides an accessible, up-to-date understanding of how to treat patients with substance and non-substance-related addiction. It covers all the typical substance and non-substance use disorders and presents evidence in a case-based format. An essential reference for mental health clinicians, as well as primary care and family medicine clinicians.
Call Number: 362.309713 B956 AND Ebook in Ebsco Diversity & Ethnic Students
Publication Date: 2018
After 133 years of operation, the 2009 closure of Ontario's government-run institutions for people with intellectual disabilities has allowed accounts of those affected to emerge. Madeline Burghardt draws from narratives of institutional survivors, their siblings, and their parents to examine the far-reaching consequences of institutionalization due to intellectual difference. Beginning with a thorough history of the rise of institutions as a system to manage difference, Broken provides an overview of the development of institutions in Ontario and examines the socio-political conditions leading to families' decisions to institutionalize their children. Through this exploration, other themes emerge, including the historical and arbitrary construction of intellectual disability and the resulting segregation of those considered a threat to the well-being of the family and society; the overlap between institutionalization and the workings of capitalism; and contemporaneous practices of segregation in Canadian history, such as Indian residential schools. Drawing from people's direct, lived experiences, the second half of the book gathers poignant accounts of institutionalization's cascading effects on family relationships and understandings of disability, ranging from stories of personal loss and confusion to family breakage. Adding to a growing body of work addressing Canada's treatment of historically marginalized peoples, Broken exposes the consequences of policy based on socio-political constructions of disability and difference, and of the fundamentally unjust premise of institutionalization.
A behind-the-scenes account of the passing of the ADA—the moment when millions of Americans won their civil rights. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is the widest-ranging and most comprehensive piece of civil rights legislation ever passed in the United States, and it has become the model for disability-based laws around the world.
Topical research in the study of the mental aspects, social welfare and health of the ageing population. Topics discussed include assessing the quality of life of the elderly population; age-related ophthalmic disease; assessment of the at-risk older driver; social services for the elderly in Hong Kong; increased lifespan for people with intellectual disabilities and locomotor disability in the aged.
In his animated and highly accessible teaching voice, Morley D. Glicken presents the rules of punctuation, grammar, and APA style in jargon-free language that's easy to understand. Chapters include detailed, real-world examples on how to write academic papers, client assessments and evaluations, business letters, research proposals and reports, papers for mass audiences, requests for funding, and much more. Glicken provides the most comprehensive writing guide available in an engaging and digestible format, including end-of-chapter exercises that allow readers to further practice their writing and critical thinking skills.
Marking the transition from the world of childhood to adult life, the adolescent faces many challenges and opportunities, including forming their own identity, relating to often conflicting demands from parents and peers, and negotiating first romantic relationships. In this Very Short Introduction, Peter K. Smith provides an engaging and informative overview of what we know and what we are learning about adolescence.
DiscoverDeWittThis link opens in a new windowSearch everything available through the library's collections and subscriptions. Limit to Library Catalog for books and other physical items. Search the SUNY Catalog and make interlibrary loan requests from within the same interface.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowCoverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowFull-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.