Catalog description: Students are introduced to legislation, policies, services and generalist practice in the child welfare system. Through lecture, discussion, in‐class and off‐site activities students learn basic case management responsibilities and skills for serving children and families. The strengths‐based perspective is emphasized as students study and practice interviewing and assessment, collaborative problem solving, ethical decision making and documentation.
Child and Family Welfare contains 22 papers focusing on welfare from both a theoretical perspective (by discussing the roles of the social work and theology), and an empirical one (by discussing its dimensions: emotional welfare, positive functioning, life satisfaction, and social welfare). This volume is a practical tool, helping the reader to understand the factors related to child and family welfare, and addresses both the general public and professionals, such as social workers, psychologists, therapists, and researchers from the social sciences, involved in promoting children’s rights and family welfare.
Despite many well-intentioned efforts to create, revise, reform, and establish an effective child welfare system in the United States, the system continues to fail to ensure the safety and well-being of maltreated children. Out of Harm's Way explores the following four critical aspects of the system and presents a specific change in each that would lead to lasting improvements.
A practical guide designed to support parents and education professionals in developing social and emotional skills in children, a form of learning that can be neglected in formal education Demonstrates how to foster social and emotional learning (SEL) at home and in the classroom, and shows how parents and professionals can work together for success Includes a wealth of exercises for promoting social and emotional wellbeing, along with tips, tools, and coverage of new developments such as computer-assisted instruction Written by authors with a wealth of practical and writing experience
Specialized Reference Sources
Get started with a topic by finding background information first. Search in a Reference database to find specialized encyclopedia articles.
Spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Addressing social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. Includes historical and modern perspectives on drug, alcohol, and tobacco use in more than 30 countries and regions.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures.
Discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language with a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society.
Over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated to include new legislation. Written by two leading figures in the field, and a team of eleven contributors, a must-have for students of social work, social care, and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional development programs.
Select a database title to begin your search for resources.
Human Services Journals
Select a journal title to find articles within that journal. Note that all journals will also appear in DiscoverDeWitt search results.