Students will learn the history of ethics and reflect on the ethical concerns common to human services and direct support care situations. Professional codes of ethics and the concepts of values, morals, boundaries, and confidentiality within the human services and direct support profession will be explored. The course will address moral concepts including virtue and justice. There will be an examination of right and wrong as it applies to case studies based on human service and direct support care situations. Students will learn and apply the concept of ethical decision making. Classroom sessions are also used to learn and develop practice skills for human services and direct support professionals.
Specialized Reference Sources
Get started with a topic by finding background information first. Search in a Reference database to find specialized encyclopedia articles.
Spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
The book outlines the theory that underpins human rights and outlines the ethical debates and dilemmas that frequently surround them. It also provides a practical model that outlines how to embed human rights theory within practice and the professional decision-making process. Drawing extensively on real-life case examples, the book includes chapters on rights-based work with different client groups including offenders, people with intellectual disabilities, immigrants and refugees, and children and families.
Explores the concepts and themes that help us understand the value base in social work. This book examines the tensions between values such as justice, anti-discrimination, compassion, and empathy, and the need for professionalism, accountability, cost codes, and performance measurement.
In this reflective yet practical book, the author challenges white helping professionals to recognize their own cultural identity and the impact it has when practising in a multicultural environment. Judy Ryde reveals how white people have implicit and explicit advantages and privileges that often go unnoticed by them. She suggests that in order to work effectively in a multicultural setting, this privilege needs to be fully acknowledged and confronted. She explores whether it is possible to talk about a white identity, addresses uncomfortable feelings such as guilt or shame, and offers advice on how to implement white awareness training within an organization. Ryde offers a model for 'white awareness' in a diverse society and provides concrete examples from her own experience.
The second edition of this highly practical and easily understood handbook provides counselors and students with the means to quickly apply the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics to practice and to professional roles and activities. It contains on-point recommendations for each standard of the Code, a decision-making model, and a listing of ethics resources. Part I presents each section of the Code, along with a brief commentary that emphasizes its most essential elements, common ethical dilemmas and problems relevant to that section, and specific strategies for risk prevention and positive practice. Part II contains ethical guidance sections focused on areas that counselors often encounter in their work, including culture and diversity, confidentiality and exceptions to confidentiality, counseling suicidal clients, multiple relationships in counseling, competence, supervision, managed care, termination and abandonment, and how to respond to an ethics complaint or malpractice suit.
Select a database title to begin your search for resources.
Human Services Journals
Select a journal title to find articles within that journal. Note that all journals will also appear in DiscoverDeWitt search results.