Search DeWitt Library
Where do I start?
Resources in our print and online Reference collections, such as subject encyclopedias, are great starting points for your research. They offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research, and often a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowSpanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowComprehensive science reference. The latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
- Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
Choose Sign in with Google with your SUNY Ulster account for access to the Visible Body Suite containing a comprehensive 3D human body reference and study tool. Explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions and more. Topics covered include:
- Human Anatomy - General anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions and more.
- Muscles & Kinesiology - Interact with 3D models of muscle actions and access detailed information on innervation and blood supply.
- Physiology & Pathology - Models and animations of the most common pathologies.
- Biology - Introductory topics like cells, DNA, photosynthesis, cellular respiration, animals, evolution, plants.
Download the corresponding mobile app for on-the-go access to the suite.
Selected Books
The Sixth Extinction
Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.
The Extreme Life of the Sea
The Extreme Life of the Sea tells the unforgettable tales of some of the most marvelous life forms on Earth, and the challenges they overcome to survive.
The Galápagos: A Natural History
A lively natural and human history, charting its course from deserted wilderness to biological testing ground and global ecotourism hot spot. Beautifully weaving together natural history, evolutionary theory, and his own experience, Nicholls shows that the story of the Gal#65533;pagos reflects the future of our species' relationship with nature--and the fate of our planet.
The Hudson Primer
This succinct book gives an intimate view of the day-to-day functioning of a remarkable river that has figured prominently in history and culture.
Darwin's on the Origin of Species
For an era in which Darwin is more talked about than read, Daniel Duzdevich offers a clear, modern English rendering of Darwin’s first edition. Neither an abridgement nor a summary, this version might best be described as a "translation" for contemporary English readers.
Inheritance
Dr. Moalem employs his wide-ranging and entertaining interdisciplinary approach to science and medicine-- explaining how art, history, superheroes, sex workers, and sports stars all help us understand the impact of our lives on our genes, and our genes on our lives.
Ten Thousand Birds: Ornithology since Darwin
A thoroughly engaging and authoritative history of modern ornithology, tracing how the study of birds has been shaped by a succession of visionary and often-controversial personalities, and by the unique social and scientific contexts in which these extraordinary individuals worked.
Bacteria
Bacteria: The Benign, the Bad, and the Beautiful introduces you to this diverse, microscopic world and explains the fundamental microbiological concepts you need to explore the life and behavior of bacteria. Ebook.
For Love of Lakes
An affectionate account documenting our species’ long relationship with lakes—their glacial origins, Thoreau and his environmental message, and the major perceptual shifts and advances in our understanding of lake ecology. Ebook.
Microbes
An accessible introduction to the world of microbes-from basic microbe biology through industrial applications. Ebook.
Additional Resources
Article Databases:
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA discrete collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary full-text database with coverage of many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles).
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Includes 100,000+ multidisciplinary ebooks. The majority of titles have publication dates of 2004 and later. Titles will appear in DiscoverDeWitt search results.
Related Subject Guides:
Search the Library Catalog
- DiscoverDeWitt - Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch the Library Catalog for the library's physical collections and ebooks.
Ask a Librarian
Instructor Materials
- Open Stax Concepts of BiologyOpen textbook appropriate for BIO101