Image Collections
- Online Museum Collection Links
Bloomsbury has put 17 fashion collections from prominent museums into this one link! - New York Public Library Digital Collections
A variety of collections related to fashion:
Dress & Fashion: Design & Manufacture,
Ornament & Pattern: Pre-Victorian to Art Deco,
Kaleidoscope : ORNEMENTS ABSTRAITS (abstract patterns) - Philadelphia Museum of Art
Link to the Elsa Schiaparelli collection ( 66 items) - Victoria & Albert Museum : London
Textiles, Costume & Fashion - Andre Studios 1930-1941Fashion Drawings & Sketches (from FIT and NYPL collections). You can browse by collection or subject.
- Google Cultural Institute
Results for search "fashion" : exhibitions, images, articles, videos. - Vogue
All things Fashion/Couture - First View
"The world's largest fashion database and photo archive with over 50 million photos and videos."
Historical Perspectives
- Fashion History Timeline from FIT
The Fashion History Timeline is a project by FIT’s History of Art Department. The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of fashion and design. - University of Washington Libraries
Fashion plates from fashion journals, 1806-1915 - University of North Texas Fashion CollectionThe UNT Texas Fashion Collection is dedicated to the preservation and documentation of historically significant fashion, and serves as an educational and inspirational resource for students, researchers, and the general public.
Apparel Manufacturing
- Process Sequence of Apparel Manufacturing GraphView the process from start to finish, Credit: slideplayer
Costume Sites: SEE ALSO Costume Subject Guide
- The Kyoto Costume Institute
Select a timeline to view fashions from 1750's-1990's. - Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute : NYC
"... more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries... includes 5000 images of footwear.." - Kent State University Gallery of Costume
18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries - The Fashion-Era: costume from 1800 in its social context
Some good links, but ads here.
Fabric and Textiles
- Material Connexion
The leading design-materials resource. Located in NYC, you can access articles, videos, and recent press from their website. - Fabric Dictionary
A -Z-, with history, applications, and images.