DeWitt Library Subject Guides: Oral Communication &amp; Public Speaking: E Books & Databases

Databases: click on the database title for direct access. Hover over the i for a description of database coverage.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary full-text database with coverage of many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features content going back as far as 1887.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Ideal for researching controversial issues. Access pro/con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Useful for argument and position papers.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Search by the name of the speaker for basic biographical information.