Search everything available through the library's collections. Limit to Library Catalog for books and other physical items. Search the SUNY Catalog and make interlibrary loan requests from within the same interface.
163 volume series with significant passages from criticism of the “world’s greatest short story writers;” also includes biographies, and bibliographies for further reading. Select content is also available online through Gale Literature Resource Center.
268 volumes; contains biographies, and excerpts from critical evaluations of the authors’ writings. Covers authors now living, or who died after 12/31/59. Select content is also available online through Gale Literature Resource Center.
More than 256 volumes; biographical and bibliographic guide to current writers in a wide range of media: fiction, poetry & drama; as well as writers in general non-fiction, journalism, motion pictures, and television. Select content also available online in Gale Literature Resource Center.
8 volumes. English language poetry, organized alphabetically by author. Includes: lists of principal poems and collections; biographies; and critical analysis, stressing author’s main contributions, themes and styles. 8th vol. has extended analytic essays on poetry, and a complete index.
7 volumes. short fiction and short story writing, organized alphabetically by author. Includes: lists of principal writings; biographies; writing characteristics; analysis; and bibliographies. Vols. 1 and 2 have extensive essays on all aspects of the genre of short fiction over time, such as narrative voice, point of view, the fable, etc.
6 vol. Critical evaluation of 732 “outstanding” short stories by 275 authors, from world literature, organized alphabetically by title. Includes: basic summary information (plot, action, characters); the story; themes and meanings, and style and technique.
v1-41,93,96. A multivolume series of literary history organized by topic, period, or genre. The articles provide career biographies and cover the development of an author’s lifework and reputation. Select content also available online in Gale Literature Resource Center.
A 14 vol. set organized by periods, from the Medieval Ages to The Twentieth Century. Lengthy, in-depth essays cover 250+ authors and their writings. Vol. 14 provides an overall index to the writers and 10 general essays.
10 vol. set of extensive literary biographies. Comprehensive treatment of the work and life of each author, often in several critical essays over time. See last vol.[Supplement III, Part 2] for a cumulative index of all volumes.
A 4 vol. guide of brief, excellent biographical and critical essays on women writers from colonial times to the present. A wide range of writers are included, ranging from literary establishment to popular, and “nontraditional “ writers [diaries, letters, etc] to children’s writers. See index in vol. 4.
A 10 vol. set: 7 original vols. with a separate index in the 8th vol, and 2 additional suppl. vols. This functions as a critical anthology of British literature or literary tradition from the 14th to the late 20th century. Select content available in Gale Literary Resources.