Course description: Students are introduced to the purpose, history and scope of the human services field and the theoretical perspectives that guide practice. Critical analysis of case studies and participation in experiential exercises familiarize students with issues confronting professional helpers, roles and skills of generalist practitioners, the helping process, and strategies of intervention. The development of self-awareness is fostered in students in preparation for human service delivery in a multicultural society within the guidelines of a professional code of ethics. This course is designed for students interested in counseling psychology, sociology, social work, gerontology, criminal justice and human services.
Specialized Reference Sources
Get started with a topic by finding background information first. Search in a Reference database to find specialized encyclopedia articles.
Spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias with results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Addressing social, medical, legal, and political issues related to substance use and addictive behavior. Includes historical and modern perspectives on drug, alcohol, and tobacco use in more than 30 countries and regions.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures.
Discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language with a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society.
Over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated to include new legislation. Written by two leading figures in the field, and a team of eleven contributors, a must-have for students of social work, social care, and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional development programs.
Below are related books in the library's collection.
In this reflective yet practical book, the author challenges white helping professionals to recognize their own cultural identity and the impact it has when practising in a multicultural environment. Judy Ryde reveals how white people have implicit and explicit advantages and privileges that often go unnoticed by them. She suggests that in order to work effectively in a multicultural setting, this privilege needs to be fully acknowledged and confronted. She explores whether it is possible to talk about a white identity, addresses uncomfortable feelings such as guilt or shame, and offers advice on how to implement white awareness training within an organization. Ryde offers a model for 'white awareness' in a diverse society and provides concrete examples from her own experience.
The Resilient Practitioner, 3rd edition, gives students and practitioners the tools they need to create their own personal balance between caring for themselves and caring for others. This new edition includes a new chapter on resiliency, an updated self-care action plan, self-reflection exercises in each chapter, and a revised resiliency inventory for practitioners.
Designed to engage readers as active participants in honing their critical thinking skills, mastering a coherent decision-making process, and integrating the evidence-based practice process into their work with clients.
Patients with chronic conditions often need psychosocial support and brief counseling to help them make the lifestyle and behavioral changes required to prevent disease complications. This innovative text, with contributions from respected clinicians and researchers in all arenas of behavioral health, provides comprehensive training for all health professionals including those in medicine, nursing, social work, mental health, and clinical and health psychology who desire targeted evidence-based training in Behavioral Health skills .
Eminent clinicians and researchers examine the complexities of improving mental health in rural practice and offer clear recommendations which can be adapted into current practice and training programs. They bring an incisive lens to factors that contribute to mental illness and prevent access to treatment areas. These include limited resources, reliance on urban models and assumptions, and pervasive misunderstanding of rural realities by policy makers. The text also addresses diversity issues in regard to rural mental health services.
Select a database title to begin your search for resources.
Human Services Journals
Select a journal title to find articles within that journal. Note that all journals will also appear in DiscoverDeWitt search results.