Skip to main content

Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster

Policies & Services: Borrowing Materials

Check Out Library Materials at the Circulation Desk

Select your status for more information.

SUNY Ulster Students/Faculty/Staff
SUNY Ulster Identification Cards are your library card. IDs are issued at the Security office. Students will need a copy of their class schedule and a photo ID.
Community Borrowers
Community borrower cards are available at the Circulation desk. Residents of Ulster County who are at least 18 years of age may become Community Borrowers. A photo ID with current address is required to apply for a card. There is no fee to become a Community Borrower. Effective January 1, 2015 all community members who wish to use the library computers must get a SUNY Ulster username and password from OIT and a SUNY Ulster ID from Public Safety during regular business hours. Community Borrowers DO NOT have interlibrary loan privileges, but may receive ILL services through their public library. Mid-Hudson Library System or local library cards are not valid here.
Complimentary Borrowers
Same privileges as Community Borrowers except Complimentary Borrowers HAVE interlibrary loan privileges.
Alumni
SUNY Ulster graduates may continue to borrow library materials. An alumni library card can be obtained at the Circulation Desk. There is no fee and the card may be renewed annually at no charge. A registration form must be completed. A photo ID is required when obtaining your alumni library card.
SUNY Open Access
Open Access is a policy of the State University of New York which opens the library resources on each individual campus to the University community of students, faculty and staff. On visiting the library of the campus with presentation of a valid State University I.D. card from one's home campus, the patron is entitled to the same use of the collection, and the same services and facilities, as the library offers its own community, including borrowing privileges. The patron, in using another campus, accepts the same responsibilities for the care of the library materials.

Borrowing Policies by Collection

A SUNY Ulster Student ID card is necessary to check out any material, including items meant only for in library use.

GENERAL COLLECTION
Faculty/Staff have until the last day of class before the end of the semester. All other borrowers have 21 days. The General Collection is located on the second and third floors and includes the Oversize and ICR Collections.
CLOSED RESERVES
Materials that are selected by faculty as supplemental and/or required reading for classes. These items are located behind the Circulation Desk.  Most reserve items are closed, which means they cannot be taken out of the library. Materials that have an overnight, 3 day or day loan may be checked out with a valid College ID Card.
Three weeks. The McNaughtons are a rotating collection of current popular fiction and nonfiction. They are located across from the Circulation desk and shelved alphabetically by author last name.
LOCAL HISTORY AND SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
In Library use only. The Local History/Special Collections are located in Room 101B.
Patrons using Local History or Special Collection MUST sign in and be accompanied by a reference librarian. These collections emphasize material relating to Ulster County but also include history of neighboring counties, the Hudson Valley and the Catskill Region and selected materials that treat the general history of the state. Materials collected include books, maps, postcards, a file of pamphlets, articles and newspaper clippings. There are some early census surveys, celebration publications, documents relating to the Ashokan Reservoir, brochures from Lake Minnewaska and the Mohonk Mountain House. For more information, see the Local History Subject Guide.
PERIODICALS
This category includes bound journals and current periodicals. All periodicals are on the lower level of the library and are shelved in alphabetical order. They may be checked out for 7 days.
SOUND RECORDINGS (LPs)
Three weeks. Located at the rear of the second floor, near the elevator.
DVD, VHS, CD
DVDs, VHS tapes and CDs may be taken out for 7 days. Browse DVD holdings on the back wall of the library's main level.
LAPTOPS
In Library Use Only. Student ID and additional picture ID required.
NOOKS
Nooks circulate for a period of two weeks. Student ID and additional picture ID required.
PERSONAL ITEMS
For the convenience of SUNY Ulster students, the library also loans the following items:
  • Headphones
  • Flashdrive
  • Mouse
  • Markers and eraser for whiteboard
  • Microphone
  • Calculator
  • Assorted games
REFERENCE
Reference material is meant for In Library Use Only. It is only to be circulated at the discretion of the Reference Librarian on duty.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Interlibrary loan materials that we receive from other libraries are picked up behind the Circulation Desk. The lending period is determined by the lending library.

Renewals/Returns/Overdues

Renewing your loan
Material that has not been requested by another patron may be renewed. Renew materials:
Request Items
If an item is checked out, you can request the item to be held for you when it is returned (excluding Course Reserves). KCSU Students may request items to be delivered from Stone Ridge to Kingston. From an item's record in Catalist, the Libray Catalog, choose "Is It Here?" and select "Request." You will be prompted to log in with your SUNY Ulster username and password. Any item that is checked out can also be requested through ILLiad.
Returning Items
All materials should be returned to the Circulation Desk. When the library is closed, books may be deposited in the book drop located outside of the main entrance to the library. Please do not place media materials in the book drop as this type of material is easily damaged.
Overdue Items
Three reminder notices will be emailed to your SUNY Ulster email address.
If the material is not returned after the third email is sent, you will receive an invoice for any material not returned. This invoice will be mailed via the U.S.. Postal Service. A hold will be placed on your student account until the item is returned or the replacement amount is paid.
Account Blocks
Unpaid invoices will result in a hold being placed on your account. A hold will result in the loss of borrowing privileges and the inability to register for classes, view grades, and receive transcripts. Return overdue items or pay the invoiced amount to have the hold removed. Contact the Circulation Desk for more information (845-687-5213).

Request Library Materials for Delivery to KCSU

Please note, available items may be requested for pick up in Kingston only. Library staff do not pull items from the shelf for pickup at the library on the main campus in Stone Ridge. Checked out items may be requested to be held in Stone Ridge or Kingston.