Skip to main content

Macdonald DeWitt Library at SUNY Ulster

Policies & Services: Research Assistance

Reference Desk

Ask a librarian at the Reference Desk for assistance with locating library materials, using the library's search tools, formatting citations, and more. Stop by or Make an Appointment.

Librarian assistance after 5pm is by appointment only. 

Useful Links

Special Collections at the Library

Access to the collection is supervised and appointments are encouraged to guarantee access.  Appointments can be made online or by calling the reference desk at 845-687-5208.

What is a reference question?

A reference question is any question you have about the library and/or its resources. For example, ask a librarian for help with

  • Looking for a book
  • Finding sources for a paper
  • Citations
  • Evaluating resources

Reference Collection

The print Reference Collection is shelved on the main level of the library behind the Reference Desk. All items are for in library use only. The collection consists of dictionaries, encyclopedias, multi-volume works, and materials meant as authoritative information sources.

The online Reference Collection is searchable through DiscoverDeWitt and the following databases

Live Chat or Text a Librarian

During most Library Hours, you will be able to chat or text with a SUNY Ulster librarian. When the library is closed or all librarians are busy, the chat will be staffed by librarians from different institutions through Ask Us 24/7.  We will respond to chats and texts during regular hours business hours.

Before chatting, consider checking if your question is one of the Library FAQs

 

Chat loading...